Skip to content
Petromass 2018

Invited speakers

Dr. Alan G. Marshall

Dr. Alan G. Marshall

Following his B.A. at Northwestern U. (1965) and Ph.D. at Stanford U. (1970), Alan Marshall spent 11 years at U. British Columbia and 13 years at Ohio State U, and in 1993 moved to Florida State U., where he is Robert O. Lawton Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Chief Scientist of the Ion Cyclotron Resonance Program at NHMFL.

He co-invented and leads the continuing development of Fourier transform ICR mass spectrometry. His current reseach includes FT-ICR instrumentation development and mapping the primary and higher-order structures of proteins.

He has published 5 books, 7 patents, and 623 refereed journal articles (>40,000 Google Scholar citations), and has presented more than 2,000 seminars/posters

His major recognitions include: Fellow, American Academy of Arts & Sciences, Amer. Phys. Soc., ACS, AAAS; SAS, and Nat’l Academy of Inventors; three Amer. Chem. Soc. national awards, Amer. Soc. for Mass Spectrometry Distinguished Contribution Award; and ISMS Thomson Medal.

Prof. Dr. Elena E. Stashenko

Prof. Dr. Elena E. Stashenko

Elena Stashenko is Laureate Full Professor at the School of Chemistry of Industrial University of Santander (UIS), in Bucaramanga, Colombia. She is the Director of the Center for Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry (CROM-MASS) and of the Research Center for Biomolecules (CIBIMOL) at this University. She has been Graduate Program Coordinator and Director of Research for the School of Sciences at UIS. During the last 28 years she has directed the undergraduate and graduate research projects of over 250 new professionals in Chemistry, Biology, and Chemical Engineering.

Elena Stashenko completed her undergraduate and Doctoral studies in Chemistry at Druzhbi Narodov University (Moscow, Russian Federation), and has been visiting Professor at University of California (Davis, CA, U.S.A.), Braunschweig University (Germany), University du Quebec (Canada), and the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (Melbourne, Australia). Elena Stashenko is Full Member of the Colombian Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences; Member of the Latin American Chromatography Committee; Member of the Board of Directors of the Colombian Association for the Advancement of Science (ACAC); Member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Separation Science, Journal of Essential Oil Research, and of Scientia Chromatographica.

Elena Stashenko was the founder of the National School of Chromatography (1998) in Colombia, where she has been the main speaker in over 130 courses offered to professionals and practitioners of chromatography from industry, research centers, academia, and Government laboratories.

During the last 13 years, Elena Stashenko has been the Director and Legal Representative of CENIVAM, the Research Center of Excellence for the agro industrialization of tropical aromatic and medicinal vegetal species, a collaborative project of 15 research groups from 10 universities. Her research work has been published in over 200 scientific articles of national and international specialized journals. Her work has received multiple awards in Colombia and abroad; among them are the following: “Frontier Award: Chemistry for Life”, from the European Society of Separation Science; “Researcher of Excellence”, from the Colombian Association for the Advancement of Science (ACAC); “COLACRO Medal”, from the 10th COLACRO; “National Chemistry Award in Analytical Chemistry”, from the Colombian Chemistry Association, ASQUIMCO; and “National Phytochemistry Prize”, from the National Phytochemistry Congress. Elena Stashenko was included in 2016 among the 50 most influential women in the analytical sciences.

This website uses cookies to improve its performance.
These cookies do not affect your privacy. More ...